a post on fieldwork from Craig Jones in Tel Aviv

War Law Space

In an earlier post, ‘The politics of a lethal name‘, I outlined some initial thoughts on my nascent PhD project. With the comprehensive exams and the PhD proposal now out of the way I’m officially what they call in North America ‘ABD’: all but dissertation!  Which means that all (sic) I have to do is research, write, edit, re-research and re-write my dissertation!

Today thus marks a special day for my project. Late this evening I arrived in Tel Aviv for the initial phase of my fieldwork. This is not quite true because I was also here at the start of last year – but that was just a short trip to set this one up, an exercise in preliminaries! If all goes according to plan I will be here for the next two months or so. The purpose of this trip, first and foremost, is to conduct interviews with…

View original post 572 more words

Leave a Reply

