Craig Jones on the ‘War Lawyers’.

War Law Space

And so the process of transcribing my interviews begins. Before I really get into it, I want to pause to reflect on the purpose of my fieldwork in Israel and to share with you some of things I was doing there. The amazing thing, or rather one of the amazing things, about fieldwork is that realities often exceed or otherwise differ from expectations.

So if you asked me what the purpose of my fieldwork was before I left  for Israel, I would have said “to interview military lawyers about the legal advice they give to military commanders in targeting operations”. And that wouldn’t have been far from the truth, even if I did avoid giving any details about what I expected to find. One of my interviewees actually asked me what I hoped to find, but I continue to find this a slightly misplaced and ethically problematic question in terms of my own research…

View original post 1,419 more words

Leave a Reply

